Gyroscope and Accelerometer filtering

15 Aug 2012

Hello guys. I'm trying to build two projects that use input from gyro and accelerometer.

The first one is a self balancing robot and the second is a quad-copter.

Both acc and gyro have internal filtering. Low-pass filter, High-pass filter and base-pass filter.

My question is, which one should a choose for each project?

I think that for the self balancing robot I should choose a high-pass filter, since I expect low frequency noise coming from it. And if I'm right, which cut off frequency should I choose?

Acc: - 8 low-pass filters: 10, 20, 40, 75, 150, 300, 600, 1200 Hz (no dig. Filter) - 1 high-pass-filter: 1 Hz - 1 band-pass-filter: 0.2 – 300 Hz

Gyro: Low-Pass filter: 256Hz, 188Hz, 98Hz, 42Hz, 20Hz, 10Hz, 5Hz

And for the quadrotor, which type of filter should I choose? My thinking is that high frequency noise will come from it, so I should choose a low-pass filter.

Is that correct? I'm new to noise filtering so I'm a bit lost.

Can anyone help me? Any suggestion will be appreciated.

Thank you!

15 Aug 2012

For accelerometer you definately dont want a high pass filter. The main (/only) task of the accelerometer is measuring the earth's gravitation, which is a quite low-frequency signal, you don't want to remove that.

Then for both the accelerometer and gyroscope I would add not much filtering. To add a disclaimer, while I am (very slowly) working on an mbed controlled quadrocopter I dont have much experience yet how it will end up working. However your gyroscope already is integrated to get an absolute angle in your code, this suppresses high frequency noise. I guess you can filter the accelerometer with a low pass filter with a cut-off frequency way above what you expect to reach by your project, but still then I would be careful with filtering.