Mbed OS onto custom PCB

12 Sep 2018

Hi all, I'm brand new to embedded systems development and I'm having some issues getting the Mbed OS onto a custom PCB. The PCB we're using has a Fanstel BT840 chip.

The specifications for this chip can be found here: http://www.fanstel.com/bt840f-nrf52840-ble-5-module-secure-iot-802154-thread-zigbee/

We've spoken with Fanstel directly, and they've told us that the chip does not ship with any operating system on it. It comes only with a little firmware of its own, not related to any Nordic or Mbed firmware, and the SoftDevice S140. My question is, how would I get the Mbed OS onto this chip?

13 Sep 2018

I've just spoken with someone at Nordic, and they informed me that I don't need to to flash any specific OS to the chip because when you build a project in Mbed, the Mbed OS is included in the generated hex file. I'm trying to build and flash the mbed-os-example-blinky application now, but I'm getting the following:

/media/uploads/algorhythymic/mbed-os-example-blinkyerror1.png /media/uploads/algorhythymic/mbed-os-example-blinkyerror2.png

13 Sep 2018

Hi Darien,

Based on your screen captures it looks like you have a good installation of Mbed CLI but you are supplying the -t ARM option which requires that you have the Arm Compiler installed. This comes bundled either with Keil MDK or Arm's DS-5. Neither of these are free, so if you don't have them we suggest installing GCC as described here:

You will see that there is a link to download GNU Arm Embedded toolchain v6. You can then use the -t gcc_arm switch once you set the GCC_ARM_PATH as described in the above article (see "Setting environment variable").