I2C Slave with more than 1 address...?

11 Dec 2011

Hello there,

I'm trying to use mbed as "man-in-the-middle"-device to manipulate data beeing transmitted between an industrial controller and its user-interface. I can interact with the display-unit, which holds a SAA1064 (7-Segment driver) and a PCF8494C (2 x 256 byte EEProm). No problem so far.

Now I want to receive data beeing sent to the display, manipulate and transmit it, in neccessary. Won't be the problem, if there only was one receiver; but the eeprom is in use too, of course, an is beeing accessed both for reading and writing...

As I understand the documentation about mbed library, I can only set one address to listen to in slave mode and address "0", which is a general read-command for all slaves. So at least I need to listen to the addresses 0x70, 0xa8 and 0xaa - could this be done with existing librarys?

Since I'm new to C++ I'd be glad to receive an answer I'm able to understand with little (but slowly growing) knowledge... :-)

Thanks for reading and help in advance!

Michael

11 Dec 2011

Maybe you could use 3 I2CSlaves, giving each one of your addresses?

11 Dec 2011

Hello Rene,

thanks for your answer!

I haven't tried to create 3 instances of the slave interface, because I couldn't imagine this could be possible!

But I'll try this - when it's possible to create many Tickers (for example) it could work with I2CSlave also...

Thanks, Michael

11 Dec 2011