Important changes to forums

We’re making some changes to the Mbed forums. From 10th December 2019 all new discussions will take place on our new forum site. You can continue to reply to existing threads for the next two weeks. After that we will archive this forum so you can return to useful posts in the future.

MultiTech's official mbed team.

Radio Certification

13 Apr 2018

Hi,

I'm an embedded software engineer who has been asked to look at something with which I have no previous experience. I'm also not sure the MultiTech forum is the correct place to start this discussion but I'll have a go.

MultiTech highlight the certification of the mDot and xDot as long as the MultiTech LoRaWAN stack is used unaltered.

Not having to perform certification feels like a huge advantage to me. Can anyone provide some sort of arm waving overview of what certification entails?

I've looked at various LoRa modules, and the Semtech discrete parts, but haven't found anyone else claiming certification. Have I missed anything?

There are other LoRaWAN stacks, notably the LoRaWAN feature in mbed-os 5.8. The implication of MultiTech's claim is that using any other stack and any other module (or discrete devices) would require certification. Is this true?

Does the MultiTech certification hold up in practice? In other words, by the time we've put the mDot or xDot on a PCB with some other devices, like a NFC device, will we have to perform certification anyway?

Thanks, Matt

11 Dec 2018

The dots are

FCC/CE/RCM certified for use in North America, Europe & Australia

LoRa Alliance Certified ™

Preforming certification (not a certification expert) requires doing lots of tests , and paying people to certify it (lots of time and money). The dots are certified with the stack on it. Other stacks would require certification, because the behavior could be different. The certification holds up in practice as long as the stacks are unaltered.

13 Apr 2018

Hi Matt